Many times I have to remind myself to thank God for making me a South African. Events that make me appreciate my life are natural disasters in different parts of the world (we don’t get those here) and the other one has to be the situation in the Middle East.
I don’t really understand what Israel and Hamas are fighting about and I don’t really think it is important but the only thing that causes great concern for me is seeing all those innocent people suffering, some injured and even killed, for what?
Because a bunch of cowards feel the only way to get their point across is by inflicting pain and suffering on innocent and defenseless people?

As things are the rest of the world has the wrong impression of all people from the Middle East, I know when I see one I automatically think “oh he’s probably strapped with a bomb”
The war in Gaza is doing little to change the misconceptions about Middle Eastern people.

Watching those that survived the air strikes digging through the rubble of what used to be their homes, frantically searching for bodies of loved ones, I couldn’t help but feel sad, sad because those people are living a life of uncertainty, they may have survived the other air strikes, who’s to say they will survive the next ones?
When will enough be enough? What is it going to take for all of this to end?

